Tel Aviv 2019

Tel Aviv 2019

Welcome to Tel Aviv
Meet the Participants
Meet the Hosts

Following Netta’s victory with “Toy” in Lisbon, Eurovision has been brought Israel for the first time since 1999 after Dana International’s historic victory. Though Israel has now won four times, this will be only be their third time hosting, as their two wins in 1978 and 1979 meant that Israel did not have the funds to host again in 1980.

Though Israel has previously hosted both times in Jerusalem, due to increased scrutiny and pressure, in addition to financial offers, the contest this year will be held in the coastal city and economic and technological center of the nation, Tel Aviv.

No new nations are debuted this year, as the longtime director of Lichtenstein’s public broadcaster unexpectedly passed away last year and both Kosovo and Kazakhstan do not have EBU membership yet to permit entry into the contest.

By extension, no countries are returning. Turkey has expressed disapproval at several rules and the inclusivity of the contest, prominently singling out Austria 2014 winner Conchita Wurst as an example. Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, and Slovakia have all declined to return.

Bulgaria announced they were withdrawing due to the lack of available funds, while Ukraine has had to withdraw due to controversies surrounding their national selection process, Vidbir, and the contract their entrant would need to sign.